Skip to main content

Meet our MFA in Writing Mentors

Many of our Mentors publish and teach in multiple genres, including Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Poetry, Young Adult, Playwriting, and Screenwriting.

In addition to being experienced and accomplished writers and teachers, our Mentors approach working with students and the craft of writing with the true spirit of Mentorship. They are deeply invested in the writing success of all our students, not only those with whom they directly work. The camaraderie our Mentors share as a team is at the heart of our tight-knit community, setting the tone for the warm professional relationships with students that continue beyond graduation. 

Each Residency, we also feature Visiting Faculty with a wide variety of experience in the literary world. Recent visitors are listed below.

Faculty Mentors

Explore the Biographies and Teaching Philosophies of our mentors by clicking the names below. If you have questions for a mentor, ask Jenna Lucas for contact information.

  • Pope Brock
  • Fiction and Creative Nonfiction Mentor
  • Kevin Clouther
  • MFA in Writing Program Coordinator 
  • Fiction and Creative Nonfiction Mentor
  • Richard Duggin
  • UNO Professor Emeritus
  • Fiction and Creative Nonfiction Mentor
  • Kate Gale
  • Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, and Poetry Mentor
  • Art Homer
  • UNO Professor Emeritus
  • Creative Nonfiction and Poetry Mentor
  • Steve Langan
  • Program Development Coordinator
  • Poetry Mentor
  • Tom Paine
  • Fiction and Creative Nonfiction Mentor
  • Jim Peterson
  • Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Poetry, and Playwriting Mentor
  • Lee Ann Roripaugh
  • Current South Dakota Poet Laureate
  • Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, and Poetry Mentor
  • Teri Youmans
  • Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, and Poetry Mentor

Visiting Faculty

Each Residency, a variety of visitors join us either in person or via video conference, including published writers and members of the literary publication world. Visiting Faculty offer readings, lectures, panel discussions, or individual conferences. Each Summer Residency, a number of alumni also return to read. Recent Visiting Faculty include:

Shanan Ballam, Jan Beatty, Joy Castro, Lisa Fay Coutley, Mark E. Cull, Natalie Diaz, Cat Dixon, Richard Dooling, Gary Dop, Gabriel Fried, D. Scott Glasser, Christina Ham, Twyla M. Hansen, Luke Hawley, James Jay, Liz Kay, Tammie M. Kennedy, Jody Keisner, Greg Kosmicki, Sarah McKinstry-Brown, Ehren Parks, John T. Price, Catie Rosemurgy, Brent Spencer, Ned Stuckey-French, Natalia Treviño, Charles Harper Webb, Leigh Allison Wilson, Scott Working