What to Expect
Your First Appointment
Your first appointment with CAPS will consist of a 90 minute intake assessment. When you arrive, you will be given a short amount of paperwork to complete. Once the paperwork is completed your counselor will bring you to their office.
During this initial intake assessment counselors will gather information, through a conversation with you, in order to build a big picture of the presenting concerns. During this conversation we will discuss the presenting concern along with other pertinent information. This informal process is not considered a counseling session but is crucial to determining the direction of services.
After the initial assessment, counseling staff will discuss with you the best course of action. This may include a referral to short-term counseling within CAPS, a referral to a community provider, a referral to a group, or other referrals as appropriate.
Things You will Need for Your First Appointment
For your first appointment it is helpful if you arrive approximately 15 minutes early in order to fill out paperwork. The paperwork will allow us to get some background information from you prior to your appointment. You may also fill out the paperwork online and will receive a link at the time you schedule your appointment.
We pride ourselves in making every effort to protect your personal information. It is important that you feel comfortable in sharing information with us as it will make your counseling experience more beneficial. Information you share with the staff at CAPS is governed by professional ethics and state law. The records of CAPS are not a part of your academic records.
Information will not be released except for the following circumstances:
- Imminent threat to harm self or others
- Child or elder abuse
- Written release from you
- Court ordered subpoena
- Specific legal circumstances
The Age of Majority in Nebraska is 19 years old. In July 2019, a law was passed that those who are 18 years old may sign and consent to receive their own mental health treatment. Any medical health treatment still requires a person be 19 years old.
Mandatory reporting laws exist for child abuse issues related to abuse, neglect and sexual assault of a minor (child). The links below can be used to find out more related to Nebraska Law and reporting issues related to minors. If you have any questions about confidentiality, your counselor will be happy to discuss them with you.