Staff Advisory Council Meeting **Minutes** Tuesday, June 12, 2018 9:00 AM | CPACS 132D

Present Members:

Melissa Boseman, Melissa Eckstein, Chantel Asselin Dunn, Bryson Barth, Brendan Brown, Deb Brozak, Amanda Buker, Savannah Czolgos, Gabi Duarte, Leslie Franke, Traci Fullerton, Lupe Green, Emily Hassenstab, Vanessa Hatfield-Reeker, Nicole Hecht, Adam Hilt, Brevan Jorgenson, Sarah Kole (V.P), Steve Lendt, Courtney Luxon, Beau Malnack (T.), Katie Martikainen, Sarah McGrath, Megan Nelson (P.), Lindsey Parde (S), Trevor Reeves, Jennifer Rock, Jill Russell, Erin Safley, Laura Sherwin, Matt Shields, Jim Sinclair, Amy Skolaski, Steve Summers (P.E.), Thomas Walker (P.P), Suzanne Withem, Alex Zatizabal

Absent Members:

Yuriko Duko, Heike Langdon, Melissa Malmberg, Michael Smith, Linda Value

<u>Welcome</u>

- The meeting began with Megan welcoming everyone followed by an icebreaker. Following the icebreaker, introductions to the group were made.
- Megan presented a short orientation by giving a short introduction of the history of SAC and the three
 pillars (inform, advocate and engage) that SAC follows. This year SAC will be focusing on the theme
 of employee retention with giving emphasis on climate, culture, and enjoyment.
- Following Megan's introduction of SAC, each committee member gave a brief overview of their role within SAC and the committee's they co-chair.

<u>Updates on the following committees</u>

- Committee Appointments (Steven Summers)
 - o The Athletics & Parking committees both have vacant seats that SAC members need to fill.
 - Matt Shields, Adam Hilt and Savannah Czolgos volunteered to be on the Athletics Committee.
 - o Amy Skolaski and Trevor Reeves volunteered to be on the Parking Committee.
- Chancellor's Commission on the Status of Women (CCSW) (Laura Sherwin)
 - Laura gave a brief overview of CCSW. Currently the committee is working with the Chancellor to update policies in order to improve the climate on campus. CCSW has requested that an UNO internal salary landscape survey be done to see if there are any discrepancies with pay among gender and job descriptions. This type of survey as not been done since 2008.
 - CCSW is also looking into what other options there are for childcare at UNO. The challenge currently is providing childcare for a growing under of faculty and staff.
 - Alex Zatizabal and Chantel Dunn both volunteered to attend CCSW meeting on behalf of SAC.
- Professional Development Fund (Laura Sherwin)
 - Laura began by giving a quick recap of the professional development fund. During the last strategic planning session, it was determined that there is no professional development fund available to help support staff in professional development. Laura and Megan spoke with HR and got a great response from them. During this meeting, it was discussed how SAC would oversee the program with an HR member.

- o Currently, Laura is working on putting together a proposal and gathering data on how other universities have implemented these kinds of programs.
- o Looking at implementing in Fall 2019

Inclusion & Equity (Suzanne)

 The inclusion and equity committee on campus has their strategic plan ready to disperse. Be on the lookout for the document. Many of the findings are already being carried out on campus.

New Business

- Committee Chair Elections (Megan Nelson)
 - Megan began by giving a quick overview of the committees. There are 5 main committees that are in need of committee chairs: Service, Activities, Professional Development, Communications, and Elections and Resolutions.
 - Nominations: Service Committee
 - Katie Martikainen nominated Suzanne Withem (declined).
 - Suzanne Withem nominated Deb Brozak (accepted).
 - Voting
 - No formal vote needed. Deb announced new Service Committee Chair.
 - Nominations: Professional Development Committee
 - Brevan Jorgenson nominated himself.
 - Vanessa Hatfield-Reeker nominated Laura Sherwin (accepted).
 - Voting
 - Nominees left the room. Voted by paper. Laura announced new Professional Development Committee Chair.
 - Nominations: Activities Committee
 - Vanessa Hatfield-Reeker nominated herself.
 - Katie Martikainen nominated Alex Zatizabal (declined).
 - Voting
 - No formal voted needed. Vanessa announced new Activities Committee Chair.
 - Nominations: Communications Committee
 - Nikki Hecht nominated herself.
 - Chantel Dunn nominated herself.
 - Katie Martikainen nominated Steve Lendt (accepted).
 - Beau Malnack nominated Brevan Jorgenson (declined).
 - Voting
 - Nominees left the room. Voted by paper. Chantel announced new Communications Committee Chair.
 - Nominations: Elections and Resolutions Committee
 - Megan Nelson nominated Brevan Jorgenson (accepted).
 - Chantel Dunn nominated Brendan Brown (accepted).
 - Trevor Reeves nominated himself.
 - Thomas Walker nominated Amanda Buker (accepted).
 - Voting
 - Nominees left the room. Voted by paper. Brendon announced new Elections and Resolutions Committee Chair.

Committee Selections

 Ended the meeting by breaking out into committees to determine committee goals for the year.

Good of the Order

<u>Adjourn</u>

Next SAC Meeting
Tuesday, July 10th, 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM
University Village Club House
Tour of Housing Models, SAC Strategic Planning Session