The Mary Ann Lamanna Award for Excellence in Women's and Gender Studies

The Mary Ann Lamanna Award for Excellence in Women's and Gender Studies recognizes extraordinary service to the UNO Women's and Gender Studies program. This noteworthy work may involve teaching, research/creative activity, service, or a combination of the three. Nominees may be UNO students, faculty, staff, alumni, or others who have provided exemplary service.

Deadline: Nominations are due March 22, 2024

To nominate a person or persons for the Mary Ann Lamanna Award for Excellence in Women's and Gender Studies, please submit the following *in electronic form* to Dr. Patrice J. Proulx at pproulx@unomaha.edu

- 1. A one or two page nomination letter describing the nominee's accomplishments and their relevance to the UNO Women's and Gender Studies program. *The nominator must be connected to the Women's and Gender Studies program (student major/minor, faculty, staff)*.
- 2. The nominee's/nominees' resume or c.v.
- 3. Additional supporting materials (e.g. letters of support) are welcome and strengthen the nomination but are not required.

The person(s) selected will receive the award at the annual Women's and Gender Studies gathering to be held on May 10, 2024 from 10:30-12:00 (brunch and reception).

Previous winners include:

Dr. R. Ogle (Criminal Justice & Women's Studies), Dr. S. Maher (English & Women's Studies), Dr. K. Falconer Al-Hindi (Geography/Geology & Women's Studies), Dr. S. Moshier (Biology & Women's Studies), Ms. M. Rosen-Atherton (University Division Counseling & Women's and Gender Studies) Ms. R. Tomlinson Dick (B.A, Women's Studies, 2010), Dr. P.J. Proulx (Foreign Languages and Literatures & Women's and Gender Studies, Ms. M. Adler(University Health Center & Women's and Gender Studies), Ms. P. Jones (Black Studies & Women's and Gender Studies), Dr. M. Basile (Iowa City, Iowa), Dr. S. Jawed-Wessel(Health Education & Women's and Gender Studies, Dr. J. Irwin (Sociology/Anthropology & Women's and Gender Studies), Dr. R. Toman (University Administration & Women's and Gender Studies), Dr. T. Kennedy (English & Women's and Gender Studies), Dr. J. Neathery-Castro (Political Science & Women's and Gender Studies), Ms. Dawn Cripe (Women's and Gender Studies), Dr. K. Girten (English & Women's and Gender Studies), Dr. D. Peterson (English & Women's and Gender Studies).