

DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS BYLAWS

Approved by vote of the Faculty, May 12th, 2023

1. INTRODUCTION

The Department of Physics ("Department") is an academic department within the College of Arts and Sciences ("CAS") at the University of Nebraska at Omaha ("University") and is governed by these Bylaws.

2. FACULTY GOVERNANCE AND RESPONSIBILITIES

- **2.1.** Except for personnel and faculty governance matters subject to vote by only tenured and/or tenure-track faculty pursuant to University policy or as determined by the Department Chair, the voting membership of the Department shall include faculty members holding the faculty rank of Professor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor, Lecturer, or Instructor ("Faculty").
- **2.2.** The Department Chair has ultimate responsibility for a wide range of activities relating to the administration of the Department in accordance with the CAS Bylaws and policies, including but not limited to: adjunct hires, staff hires, schedules, teaching duties, student petitions, budgets, space assignments, summer school assignments, and annual evaluations. The Department Chair is responsible to the Dean and the departmental faculty for the administration of the Department and is constrained by the American Association of University Professors local chapter ("Union") negotiated contract. The general duties of the Department Chair are described in the CAS Bylaws.
- **2.3.** The Faculty have responsibility for a range of activities, including but not limited to: textbook course material selection, Department goals and mission, scholarship and fellowship selection, degree and course requirements, laboratory practices, advice on teaching load guidelines, departmental honors approval, advising duties, and serving on faculty and staff hire search committees.
- **2.4** The Curriculum Committee will consist of Faculty appointed by the Department Chair and advises the Department Chair on matters pertaining to the undergraduate programs. The committee shall review the undergraduate curriculum at least every three years and may recommend changes to the Faculty. The Curriculum Committee shall also be responsible for executing programmatic and general education assessment in accordance with University and CAS Bylaws and policies, and a Faculty approved assessment plan.
- **2.5** The Advising Committee will consist of the Department Chair and Faculty appointed by the Department Chair and will be responsible for undergraduate student advising and mentoring. The Advising Committee will develop and maintain roadmaps and curriculum guidance materials and communicate with CAS academic advisors.
- **2.6.** The Scholarship Committee will consist of Faculty appointed by the Department Chair and will oversee the annual scholarships, fellowships, and awards process and ensure the

disposition of any funds. The committee will publicize and solicit applications in a timely manner. They will select candidates based on academic success and responses to the information on the application. The final selection of the scholarship, fellowship, and awards recipients will be made by approval of the members of the Faculty.

- **2.7.** The Personnel Committee will consist of tenured faculty appointed by the Department Chair and will advise the Department Chair in matters associated with Faculty personnel issues, in accordance with University policies and CAS Bylaws and policies. This will include Reappointment, Promotion, and Tenure ("RPT"), annual review, and merit.
- **2.8.** The Chair may appoint ad hoc committees for matters not considered by other committees.

3. DEPARTMENT MEETINGS

- **3.1.** Faculty meetings are those at which all business of the Department is discussed and acted upon. All Faculty and staff in the Department may attend these meetings. The Department Chair may invite anyone else to attend as appropriate. At the discretion of the Department Chair, remote attendance may be allowed for Faculty meetings.
- **3.2.** The Department Chair (or designee) will preside over Faculty meetings, schedule and cancel meetings as necessary, and call special meetings as necessary. The Department Chair shall prepare and make available the agenda for a called meeting at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the meeting. The agenda will include any items that will be subject to a vote at that meeting.
- **3.3.** One-half (1/2) of the voting membership shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business at a Faculty meeting. Meetings will be conducted by *Democratic Rules of Order*, copies of which will be maintained in the Department library.
- **3.4.** For any Faculty meetings at which an anonymously cast vote on a matter is required by University policy or as requested by at least two voting members in attendance, votes shall be cast anonymously by written ballot.
- **3.5.** There shall be at least six meetings of Faculty in each academic year, with at least three meetings held in the Fall term and at least three meetings held in the Spring term. All meetings shall be called by the Department Chair with a minimum of one week's notice.
- **3.6.** There shall be at least four meetings of standing committees (Curriculum, Advising, Scholarship, and Personnel) in each academic year, with at least two meetings held in the Fall term and at least two meetings held in the Spring term. A Committee Chair shall be appointed by the Department Chair and will organize and preside over standing committee meetings and report on standing committee business. Meetings shall be called by the Committee Chair with a minimum of one week's notice.

4. AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS

4.1. These bylaws may be amended at any Faculty meeting by a two-thirds vote, provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing at the previous Faculty meeting.