

Leadership Faculty Fellow Program - Academic Affairs¹

Leadership Faculty Fellows (LFF) are intended to support the development of diverse faculty leadership for the campus. Fellows work collaboratively with academic leadership in Academic Affairs and across the colleges to develop or build capacity in an area of need. In addition to taking the lead on a particular project or initiative that advances the mission of Academic Affairs on campus, fellows also have the opportunity to learn about more general administrative tasks and priorities associated with supporting academic leadership of the campus.

The fellow program allows faculty to explore administrative leadership roles, engage in professional development, and prepare for advancement. There are also benefits to the campus as fellows facilitate the development and building of institutional or campus perspectives and they expand capacity within the Office of Academic Affairs. The following are examples of the institutional impact:

- Academic program assessment
- General education curriculum
- Undergraduate catalog
- Remissions analysis and reform
- Government relations
- Civic engagement

Program Elements

The program consists of the following...

- Designated area of responsibility, typically a major campus-wide initiative
- Executive coaching
- External professional development
- Participation in Academic Affairs (and others) meetings
- Individual meetings with senior leaders

Compensation and Workload

Leadership Faculty Fellows receive an annual administrative stipend and professional development opportunities. They are given a .50FTE special workload assignment in the Office of Academic Affairs and continue to have a .50FTE teaching/research/service assignment in their home department/school. Costs for replacement part-time instruction are provided to the department/school (i.e., up to \$30,000 for the academic year). The position also includes a small stipend \$3,600 and a summer appointment equivalent to one summer course (i.e., 9% of salary). Fellows typically have a mentoring plan, professional development support, and access to college, campus, and university-wide leadership development opportunities.

Application Process

Applicants typically submit a letter of interest, CV, and letters of support from department chair/school director and dean by end of fall semester to AVC Faculty Affairs.

¹ Last updated 1/13/23 by Candice Batton, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Faculty Affairs.

Participant History

Several faculty have participated in the faculty fellow program at UNO. In the late 1990s, the program was known as Chancellor's Administrative Fellows and became known as Administrative Leadership Academies with three cohorts between 2000-2006.

In 2012, the program was reactivated as the Administrative Faculty Fellow program. The following is a list of participants with information on their campus role at the time they joined the program and also leadership roles accepted following the program.

- 2012-14: Candice Batton, Director and Associate Professor, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
 - Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (2015-2020)
 - Assistant Vice Chancellor for Faculty Affairs (2020-present)
- 2012-14: Melissa Berke, Professor, School of Music
 - Assistant Dean, College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media (2015-18)
 - Associate Dean, College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media (2018-present)
- 2014-15: Juan Casas, Professor, Department of Psychology
 - o Interim Director, Office of Latin/Latino American Studies (2012-15)
 - Associate Director, Office of Latin/Latino American Studies (2015-16)
 - Associate Dean, Graduate Studies (2019-21)
 - Acting Dean, Graduate Studies (2021-22)
 - o Interim Dean, Graduate Studies (2022-23)
 - Dean, Graduate Studies (2023-present)
- 2014-19: Barb Pickering, Professor, School of Communication
 - Assistant Director, School of Communication (2020-present)
 - President Elect, AAUP (2021-22)
 - President, AAUP (2022-23)
- 2013-15: Laura Grams, Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy
 - Chair, Department of Philosophy (2016-19)
 - Faculty Senate Vice President (2015-17)
 - Faculty Senate President (2017-18)
 - o Chancellor's Transition Council (2017-18)
 - President's Transition Committee (2019-20)
 - President UNO AAUP (2022-23)
 - 2012-13: Ken Kriz, Associate Professor, School of Public Administration
 - Regents Distinguished Professor of Public Finance and Director of Kansas Public Finance Center, Wichita State University (2013-18)
 - Distinguished Professor of Public Administration and Director Institute for Illinois Public Finance, University of Illinois at Springfield (2018-)
- 2016-19: Connie Schaffer, Associate Professor, Department of Teacher Education
 - Assessment Coordinator, College of Education (2010-20)
 - Community Engagement Fellow, Bak Academic Learning Center (2020-21)
 - Director, UNO Ombuds Services (2020-21)
 - Director, Center for Faculty Excellence (2021-present)
- 2021-23: Sandra Rodriguez-Arroyo, Associate Professor, Department of Teacher Education
- 2021-23: Jonathan Santo, Professor, Department of Psychology

2023-25 Leadership Faculty Fellows

- 2023-25: Ramazan Kilinc, Professor, Department of Political Science
- 2023-25: Amy Morris, Professor and Director, School of the Arts
- 2024-25: Erin Pleggenkuhle-Miles, Associate Professor, Department pf Management