SKIP navigation

School Holds First KTA Induction

KTAThe University of Nebraska at Omaha School of Communication held its first Kappa Tau Alpha breakfast Oct. 25 and welcomed its inaugural chapter members into the seventh oldest national honor society.

Rebekah Klitzke, Ryan Rakowsky, Stephanie Hearn and Sally Gutschow attended the breakfast ceremony. Other new members are: Bethany Carlberg, Shannon McGuire, Stephanie Monge, Stacy Seier, Katherine Stewart, Abby Supenski, Maggie Susemihl, Laura Wapelhorst and James Wood.

The UNO chapter, the 93rd in the nation, was one of few receiving unanimous approval following a rigorous nine month review process, Advisor Chris Allen said.

College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media Dean Gail F. Baker, the keynote speaker, noted the pride and importance associated with the recognition. "We are passing the light of truth to you," Baker said. "Through you, I believe, the lofty ideals that are KTA are in the absolute best of hands."

Thirteen journalism and mass communication upper-class majors in the top 10 percent of their class received KTA honors.