SKIP navigation

School earns top teaching award
Third UNO department to be honored


The School of Communication is the 2009 recipient of one of the University of Nebraska’s most prestigious honors, the University-wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA).


President Milliken, Board of Regents Members,
School of Communication Faculty and Friends

The UDTA recognizes a department or school within the university that has made a unique and significant contribution to teaching. It carries with it a $25,000 award to the winner. The UNO School of Communication is well known for its teaching, outreach, service and student focus. Faculty members in the school are nationally and internationally known in their various fields through research and publication.


Students in broadcasting, journalism, speech communication and graduate studies in communication also enjoy state-of-the-art facilities and a wide-range of internship options that often lead to full-time positions upon graduation. The School of Communication enthusiastically embraces UNO’s metropolitan mission and strategic goals of student focus, academic excellence and community engagement.

School of Communication Faculty

The School has a nationally-recognized Speech Center, an award-winning student newscast, a top-15 Forensics team, a national first place public relations chapter and student PR firm, innovative new media, computer-mediated and visual communication curricula, internationally-recognized communication apprehension instruction, numerous collaborations with all UNO colleges and world-class alumni spanning the globe. Its full-time and part-time faculty blend sound pedagogy with best practices from communication industries. Faculty members are noted scholars with significant professional experience.


The School, which is the largest department in the College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media, is only the third UNO department to receive the award since its inception in 1992. The Goodrich Program and the School of Social Work were previously recognized by the NU President and Regents.