SKIP navigation

UNO PR alumni and students dominate competition

The PRSA Nebraska 2009 Paper Anvil Awards Dec. 10 featured many School of Communication winners, as graduate alumna Teresa Paulsen of ConAgra was named Professional of the Year.

Teresa Paulsen
Teresa Paulsen

Graduate alumna Amy Adkins of Cassling, a local marketing firm, won in the Accessory to Success category for "Investing in You." Adkins also was recognized for "2009 State of the Union" marketing. Paulsen's team was awarded for "ConAgra Foods Brand Story/Launch Video."

An annual report Award of Merit went to M.A. alumnus and School of Communication instructor Kevin Warneke for “Thanks for Lending a Hand,” Ronald McDonald House Charities in Omaha. M.A. alumna Randa Zalman of Redstone Communications received an Award of Merit in the integrated marketing communications campaign category for the 2009 Designer Showhouse.

Current School of Communication students also were recognized with student awards. The Outstanding Classroom Campaign Award of Merit went to "U kNOw Choices: Choose to Care, Binge Drinking Prevention Event," UNO Chapter of PRSSA, Molly Johnson, Heather Nasif, Cassie Prestia and advised by Lecturer Karen Weber.

The Award of Excellence also went to UNO PRSSA students Jennifer Estep, Aimee Labenz, Sarah Casey, Mikaela Knipe and Kristen Martin for "Very Important Path: Your Backstage Pass to College." They also won for "Paint the Town Orange MS Awareness Week 2009," PRSSA, Maverick Solutions Student PR Firm, Estep, Labenz, Casey, Knipe, Nasif, Yan He and Jill Sauser. Nasif also was recognized with the Outstanding PR Internship Award of Excellence for her work with Blue Planet Natural Grill.