SKIP navigation
Site Name Here
UNO Spirit

Follow Us:





My Words. My Time. My MFA.





Benjamin Graber and Michael Oatman

Program Faculty

Faculty Mentors

Many of our Faculty Mentors publish and teach in multiple genres, including Adult and Young Adult Fiction (F), Creative Nonfiction (CNF), Poetry (P), and Playwriting (PW). Our mentors are chosen not only on the basis of their literary and teaching accomplishments, but also because their approaches to teaching and the craft of writing coincide with our emphasis on Mentorship.

Download Printable Version of Faculty Information

Pope Brock (F / CNF)
Charlene Donaghy (PW)
Richard Duggin (F / CNF)
Kate Gale (F / CNF / P)
Teri Youmans Grimm (P)
Amy Hassinger (F / CNF)
Allison Adelle Hedge Coke (F / CNF / P)
Art Homer (CNF / P)
Michael Kinghorn (PW)
Steve Langan (P)
Patricia Lear (F / CNF)
Kristen-Paige Madonia (F)

Jessica Hendry Nelson (F / CNF)
Michael Oatman (PW)
Tom Paine (F)
Jim Peterson (F / P / PW)
Elizabeth Powell (P)
Lee Ann Roripaugh (F / CNF / P)
Karen Gettert Shoemaker (F / CNF)
Catherine Texier (F / CNF)
William Trowbridge (P)
Miles Waggener (P)
Charles Wyatt (F / CNF)

Playwright in Residence - Benjamin Graber

Visiting Residency Faculty

In addition to readings and lectures offered by our Faculty Mentors each Residency, a number of Visiting Writers join us each session in person or via videoconference. Recent and upcoming visitors include:

Jan Beatty
Sherwin Bitsui
Michelle Brower
Joy Castro
Rachel Cohn
Mark E. Cull
Gabriel Jason Dean 
Natalie Diaz
David Allan Evans

Shelley Evans
Charles Fort
Gabriel Fried

Graham Foust   
D. Scott Glasser
Stephanie Elizondo Griest
Christina Ham
Erin Harris
Patricia Henley
Andrew Hinderaker
James Jay
Jeff Kleinman
Allan Kornblum
Greg Kosmicki
Jude Nutter
Kristen-Paige Madonia
Jessica Hendry Nelson
Ann Patty
John Price
Richard Robbins
Ned Stuckey-French
Terese Svoboda
Charles Harper Webb
Wang Ping
Leigh Allison Wilson
Scott Working
Gabrielle Zevin

Previous Mentors and Visitors

Fred Arroyo
Candace Black
Megan Daum
Richard Dooling
Beth Ann Fennelly
Mark Haskell Smith
William Kloefkorn
Allan Kornblum
Ted Kooser
Tom Franklin  
Anna Monardo
Richard Robbins
Catie Rosemurgy 
Brent Spencer
Sue William Silverman
Nance Van Winckel