SKIP navigation
STEM Journal Header

Office of STEM Education Membership

Neal Grandgenett, Ph.D. – Professor, Math Education
Dr. George and Sally Haddix Chair of STEM Education
ngrandgenett@unomaha.edu 
Ph.D. -- Iowa State University -- Curriculum and Instruction
M.S. -- University of Nebraska at Omaha -- Math Education 
B.S. -- University of Nebraska at Omaha – Education

Christine E. Cutucache, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Biology
Haddix Community Chair of Science 
ccutucache@unomaha.edu
Ph.D. — University of Nebraska Medical Center— Genetics, Cell Biology, and Anatomy
B.S. — University of Nebraska at Kearney — Biology

Sheryl McGlamery, Ph.D. – Professor, Science Education
smcglamery@unomaha.edu 
Ph.D. -- Florida State University -- Science Education
M.Ed. -- University of North Florida -- Science Education
B.A. -- Jacksonville University -- Biology/Psychology

Carol Mitchell, Ph.D.  – Professor, Science Education
cmitchell@unomaha.edu 
Ph.D. -- University of Nebraska - Lincoln -- Curriculum and Instruction/Science Education 
M.S. -- Southern University -- Chemistry 
B.S. -- North Texas State University -- Secondary Education/Chemistry and Biology

Elliott Ostler, Ed.D.  -- Professor, Math Education
elliottostler@unomaha.edu 
Ed.D. -- University of South Dakota -- Curriculum and Instruction 
M.S. -- University of Nebraska at Omaha -- Secondary Education/Math
B.S. -- University of Nebraska at Omaha -- Secondary Education/Math

Neal Topp, Ph.D. – Professor, Instructional Technology
Administrative Fellow, Campus Accreditation- UNO Office of Academic and Student Affairs 
ntopp@unomaha.edu 
Ph.D. -- Iowa State University -- Curriculum and Instructional Technology
M.S.E. -- Drake University -- Educational Administration
B.M.E. -- Drake University -- Music Education

Brian Dorn, PhD. – Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Union Pacific Community Chair of Computer Science Education
bdorn@unomaha.edu  
Ph.D. – Georgia Institute of Technology – Computer Science
M.S. – Iowa State University – Computer Science
B.S. – Northwest Missouri State University – Computer Science

William Austin, Ed.D.  – Associate Professor, Multicultural Education
waustin@unomaha.edu 
Ed.D. -- University of South Dakota -- Curriculum and Instruction 
M.A.E. -- University of Northern Iowa -- Educational Psychology 
B.A. -- Luther College -- Secondary Education

Dennis Hanley, M.A. - Instructional Technology Design/Training Specialist
dhanley@unomaha.edu
B.A. -- Arizona State University
M.A. -- University of Nebraska at Omaha

Vicki Lentfer – STEM Instructor
vlentfer@unomaha.edu
Ed.D. – College of Saint Mary
M.S. – University of Nebraska Kearney
B.A. – University of Nebraska Omaha

Angie Hodge, Ph.D. - Assistant Professor and Haddix Community Chair of Mathematics, Mathematics Education
amhodge@unomaha.edu 
Ph.D. -- Purdue University -- Curriculum and Instruction/Mathematics Education 
M.S. -- Purdue University -- Mathematics 
B.S. -- Minnesota State University Moorhead – Mathematics

Derrick A. Nero, M.S. — Instructor, Teacher Education
K12 Engineering Education Instructor
dnero@unomaha.edu
M.S. — University of Nebraska at Omaha, Special Education
B.S. — University of New Orleans, Electrical Engineering

Kelly Gomez Johnson- Instructor/Instructional Coach
Kgomezjohnson@unomaha.edu
M.A. -- University of Nebraska-Lincoln -- Teaching Mathematics
M.S. -- University of Nebraska-Omaha -- Improvement of Instruction
B.A. -- University of Nebraska-Lincoln -- Secondary Education

Amelia Squires – Coordinator, UNO STEM Outreach
asquires@unomaha.edu
B.S. --Creighton University – Elementary Education 

Kristin VanWyngaarden – STEM Graduate Assistant
kvanwyngaarden@unomaha.edu
B.S. – University of Nebraska at Omaha – Political Science
B.S. – University of Nebraska at Omaha – Speech Communication