SKIP navigation
Grace Abbott School of Social Work
School of Social Work

faculty.

Amanda Randall

Amanda Randall, Associate Professor/Director

Research Interests: Life span attachment, transgendered identity and political participation; eating disorders; sexuality issues; criminal justice reentry grant project for violent offenders

(402) 554.2843 |arandall@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Patty Carlson

Patty Carlson, BSSW Coordinator/Instructor

Research Interest: Service-learning, nonprofit network systems, and neighborhoods and communities

(402) 554.2860 | pcarlson@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Jacque Reiser

Jacque Reiser, Instructor

Research Interests: Clinical Social Work, School Social Work, Medical Social Work, Mental Illness, Developmental Disabilities, and Program Supervision

(402) 554.2891 | jreiser@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Jieru Bai

Jieru Bai, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Acculturation and acculturative stress; Mental health of immigrants and their families; Culturally competent assessment and practice; Program evaluation; Advanced statistical methods/mixed methods 

(402) 554.2795 | jbai@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Kerry Beldin

Kerry Beldin, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Domestic violence offender intervention; treatment of mood disorders; evidence-based practice and evaluation of clinical intervention; race, class, gender, and mental health

(402) 554.2941 | kbeldin@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Christiana Bratiotis

Christiana Bratiotis, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Multi-disciplinary responses to social problems, community interventions and evidence-based treatments for Hoarding Disorder

(402) 554.2921 | cbratiotis@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Sandy Cook-Fong

Sandy Cook-Fong, AssistantProfessor/Coordinator of Off-Campus Program at Kearney

Research Interests: foster care, mentoring, and rural issues

(308) 865-8742 | scookfong@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Ann Coyne

Ann Coyne, Professor

Research Interests: Child Welfare, Adoption of Special Needs Children, International Adoption, Developmental Disabilities

(402) 554.2798 | acoyne@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Henry D'Souza

Henry D'Souza, Professor

Research Interests: Justice, peace and poverty issues. He has collaborated with colleagues in researching mentoring programs for minorities, child protective services, sexual problems and sex education

(402) 554.2824 | hdsouza@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Jeanette Harder

Jeanette Harder, Professor

Research Interests: Program evaluation, child abuse prevention, child protection in faith communities

(402) 554.2893 | jharder@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Nancy Kelley-Gillespie

Nancy Kelley-Gillespie, MSW Coordinator/Associate Professor

Research Interests: Quality of life and quality of care of older adults; elder abuse, neglect and exploitation; end-of-life care; caregiving issues; intergenerational programming; community building; community long-term care initiatives; program evaluation; nonprofit administration; and service-learning and civic engagement

(402) 554.4886 | nkelleygillespi@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Karen Rolf

Karen Rolf, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Effect of children's health on families, school social work, the well-being of children with disabilities in foster care and adoptive homes, and caregiving

(402) 554.2850 | krolf@unomaha.edu | Vitae

replace with name

Peter Szto, Associate Professor/Program Chair

Research Interests: International Social Work: China, Cultural Competency: Asian American Mental Health; Anti-Racism; Documentary Photography as a tool of Social Research; Theology and Social Work

(402) 554.2330 | pszto@unomaha.edu | Vitae

Jane Woody

Jane Woody, Professor

Research Interests: Psychotherapy, Couple Therapy, Treatment for Sexuality Issues/Problems, Professional Ethics, Prevention

(402) 554.2898 | jwoody@unomaha.edu | Vitae

staff.

Konnie Kirchner

Konnie Kirchner, Practicum Coordinator

Job Duties: Assists in coordinating practicums for BSSW and MSW students by conducting practicum orientations and practicum seminars, acts as practicum liaison for students and practicum instructors, and provides practicum instructor trainings

(402) 554.2797 | kkirchner@unomaha.edu | Biography

Ida-Marie Hebrank

Ida-Marie Hebrank, Practicum Associate

Job Duties: Assists in coordinating practicums for BSSW and MSW students by conducting practicum orientations and practicum seminars, acts as practicum liaison for students and practicum instructors, and provides practicum instructor trainings and international practicum activities

(402) 554.3853 | ihebrank@unomaha.edu | Resume

Ellen Rice

Ellen Rice, Advisor

Job Duties: advisor for the pre-BSSW students, both current UNO students and those transferring from another college or university

(402) 554.4928 | erice@unomaha.edu | Biography

Jean Beda

Jean Beda, Office Administrator

Job Duties: Assists Director with correspondence, reports, evaluations and other confidential materials; accounting and financial issues; assist with faculty and staff travel expenses; Human Resource Manager and Scholarship committee

(402) 554.2793 | jbeda@unomaha.edu

Michelle Nelsen

Michelle Nelsen, Student Services Administrator

Job Duties: Provides ongoing support to MSW and BSSW students by assisting with admissions, enrollment, and degree audits, in addition to supporting SOWK faculty and staff 

(402) 554.2792 | mdnelsen@unomaha.edu

student staff.

Brian Travis

Brian Travis, Administrative Graduate Assistant to the Director

Job Duties: Provides support to the School by assisting with meetings and activities of the Executive Body and other Committees, Manages the School's website development, and assists in other areas of administration and research

(402) 554.3057 | btravis@unomaha.edu

Allison Lauritsen

Allison Lauritsen, Graduate Assistant to the Program Chair

Job Duties: Provides support to the School by assisting with meetings and activities of the Program Committee and other committees; manages the School's advising database and assists in other ares of administration and research

(402) 554.2832 | alauritsen@unomaha.edu

 

Ashley Morales, Work Study Student