SKIP navigation

Faculty and Staff


The Department of Political Science at UNO stresses its instructional mission, while strongly fulfilling its research and service obligations. Our instructors have received Excellence in Teaching Awards, published books and articles, and regularly share their professional knowledge with the community.

Our award winning faculty is here to provide you with courses leading to Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, or Master of Science degrees.

Meet our faculty who will bring new insights to our courses in American government, Western European politics, Latin American politics, East Asian politics, Middle East politics, political theory, constitutional law, and international peace and conflict resolution.

Our courses introduce you to the world of American politics, to the principal ideas that have shaped the world, to the political life of other countries, and to the politics among nations. They prepare you for a wide variety of occupations, not solely in the realm of politics.

Randall E. Adkins, Ph.D.
Professor, Chair
Miami University

College of Arts and Sciences Excellence in Research Award, 2014
Chancellor's Excellence in Teaching Award, 2010
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Ralph Wardle Diamond Professor of Arts and Sciences, 2010
University of Nebraska at Omaha
UNO Alumni Outstanding Teaching Award, 2007
UNO Alumni Association


Jonathan C. Benjamin-Alvarado, Ph.D.
University of Georgia

Alumni Outstanding Service Award, 2012-2013
Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award, 2003
UNO Alumni Association









Elizabeth S. Dahl, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
American University





Carson L. Holloway, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Northern Illinois University

College of Arts and Sciences Excellence in Teaching Award, 2013







Ramazan Kilinc, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Arizona State University





Paul M. Landow, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
University of Nebraska-Lincoln





Jody L. Neathery-Castro, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Rice University

College of Arts and Sciences Excellence in Service Award, 2011
College of Arts & Sciences Excellence in Teaching Award, 2007
Chancellor's Excellence in Teaching Award, 2007
Outstanding Faculty in Service Learning Award, 2001






Gregory A. Petrow, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of North Carolina







Hon. Ben Nelson, M.A., J.D.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Former Governor of the State of Nebraska (1991-99)
Former United States Senator (2001-13)








Emeriti Faculty

W. Meredith Bacon, Ph.D., University of Denver

Loree G. Bykerk, Ph.D., Columbia University

Carl H. Camp, Ph.D., Washington University.

Joong-Gun Chung, Ph.D., Claremont Graduate School.

James B. Johnson, Ph.D., Northwestern University.

Kent A. Kirwan, Ph.D., University of Chicago.


Fall 2014 Adjunct Faculty

Edward A. Castro, MPA, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Lisa M. Cook-Piccolo, MS, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Richard M. Fellman, JD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Jennifer B. Fulcher, MA, Univerisity of Nebraska-Omaha

Michael J. Goodwillie, JD, University of Iowa

Joel Hebrink, MS, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Craig M. Martin, JD, Creighton Law School

Patrick T. McNamara, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Omaha

Nancy E. Nicas, MA, University of Kansas

Melissa S. Peterson, MS, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Roger A. Reestman, MA, University of Hawaii

Rhonda J. Saferstein, MS, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Donald C. Simmons, Jr., Ph.D., University of Denver

Michael C. Sullivan, MS, University of Nebraska-Omaha


Special Projects Consultant:

Aaron T. Dowd, BA, Marquette University


To access the Faculty Guidelines for Preparation of Reappointment, Promotion, and Tenure Recommendations, click here.