SKIP navigation
Site Name Here

Dr. Randall E. Adkins
Professor - Department Chair

Political Science
Arts & Science Hall, 275
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Tel: (402) 554-3617
Fax: (402) 554-4860

Fall 2014 Office Hours: Monday-Thursday: 9am-10:30am and by appointment.


Dr. Adkins joined the faculty at the University of Nebraska at Omaha in 2000 with previous teaching experience at Concord College and California University of Pennsylvania. He grew up in West Virginia and received his Bachelor's degree from Marshall University and Doctorate from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. He primarily teaches courses on campaigns and elections, Congress, and the Presidency.





College of Arts and Sciences Excellence in Research Award, 2014

Chancellor's Excellence in Teaching Award, 2010
University of Nebraska at Omaha

Ralph Wardle Diamond Professor of Arts and Sciences, 2010
University of Nebraska at Omaha

UNO Alumni Outstanding Teaching Award, 2007
UNO Alumni Association

Courses Taught:

PSCI 1100: Introduction to American National Government

PSCI 3160/8165: Political Parties

PSCI 3180/8185: Campaigns and Elections

PSCI 4030/8036: The Presidency

PSCI 4040/8046: The Legislative Process

PSCI 4810/8816: Politics and Film

PSCI 8040: Seminar in American Government and Politics


Current Research:
Dr. Adkins' research has been published in American Politics Quarterly, American Politics Research, The Journal of Political Marketing, Political Research Quarterly, Presidential Studies Quarterly, and Publius: The Journal of Federalism. He is also the author of The Evolution of Political Parties, Campaigns, and Elections: Landmark Documents, 1787-2008 published by Congressional Quarterly Press; Cases in Congressional Campaigns: Incumbents Playing Defense published by Routledge Press; and Cases in Congressional Campaigns: Riding the Wave also published by Routledge Press.