SKIP navigation
OLLAS
 
OLLAS Faculty & Staff
..................................................

Staff
Faculty


OLLAS Faculty, Students and Staff at the 2013 End of Year Celebration

Lourdes Gouveia, Ph.D.
OLLAS Director and Professor of Sociology.
Research and Teaching Interests: Latin American Migration, US Latino Populations, and Latino American Societies in the Globalization Era, Global Development and Food and Agriculture.
Email: lgouveia@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3835

Yuriko Doku, M.S.
OLLAS Project Coordinator
Email: ydoku@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3835

Juan Casas, Ph.D.
OLLAS Associate Director and Professor of Psychology
Research and Teaching Interests: Relational Aggression and Victimization, Peer Relationships, Friendships and Dual Language.
Email: jcasas@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.2548

Jonathan Benjamin-Alvarado, Ph.D.
OLLAS Associate Director for Engagement and Professor of Political Science.
Research and Teaching Interests: Comparative Politics/Sustainable Development in Latin America, Inter-American Politics and Latino Politics.
Email: jalvarado@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4859

Lissette Aliaga-Linares, Ph.D.
OLLAS Research Associate, Social Demographer
Research Interests: Urban Segregation, Migration, Urban Poverty and Informal Work
Email: laliagalinares@unomaha.edu
Phone:402.554.3835

Clare Maakestad, B.A.
OLLAS Study Abroad Assistant
Email: cmaakestad@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3835

Claudia Lucero
OLLAS Community Engagement Coordinator
Email: cluceromead@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3835

Mariela Bahena
OLLAS Student Worker
Email: mbahena@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3835

back to top



María Arbelaez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History.
Research and Teaching Interests: South America, Modern Mexico, Borderlands, Latino/Chicano Studies and Mexican Americans in the Midwest.
Email: marbelaez@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3649

Timi Barone, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anthropology.
Research and Teaching Interests: Epidemiology/Evolution of Human Disease, Ethnomedicines and Heath Care Utilization.
Email: tbarone@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3372

Theresa Barron-Mckeagney, Ph.D.
Director and Associate Professor of Social Work.
Research and Teaching Interests: Community Service, Latino Advocacy and Women's Issues.
Email: tbarronm@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.2923

Danielle Battisti
Assistant Professor of History
Research and Teaching Interests: Twentieth Centry American History, Immigration and Ethnic History.
Email: dbattisti@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4821

Jonathan Benjamin-Alvarado, Ph.D.
OLLAS Assistant Director for Research and Outreach and Professor of Political Science.
Research and Teaching Interests: Comparative Politics/Sustainable Development in Latin America, Inter-American Politics and Latino Politics.
Email: jalvarado@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4859

Michael Carroll, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Goodrich Scholarship Program and English.
Research and Teaching Interests: Indian Poetry, Chicano/a Literature, Multicultural Education and African American Cultural Studies.
Email: mcarroll@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3458

Juan Casas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology.
Research and Teaching Interests: Relational Aggression and Victimization, Peer Relationships, Friendships and Dual Language.
Email: jcasas@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.2548

Ann Coyne, Ph.D.
Professor of Social Work.
Research and Teaching Interests: Developmental Disabilities, Child Welfare, Public Welfare, Program Evaluation and Grant Writing and Research.
Email: acoyne@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.2798

Ana Cruz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Communication.
Research and Teaching Interests: Marriage and the Family, Race, Ethnicity and Culture.
Email: anacruz@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4847

Eugenio Di Stefano, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Research and Teaching Interests: Literary and visual cultures and their intersection with politic; representations of torture, violence and pain in contemporary literature and films in Latin American countries
Email: edistefano@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4844

Claudia García, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Spanish.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Contemporary Latin American Literature, Guatemalan Narrative and Cultural Studies.
Email:csgarcia@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4837

Lourdes Gouveia, Ph.D.
OLLAS Director and Professor of Sociology.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Immigration, Global Development, Food and Agriculture and Latin American/Latino Sociology.
Email: lgouveia@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3835

Ramón Guerra, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of English.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Chicano/Latino Literature, Ethnic Literature and 20th Century American Literature.
Email: rguerra@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3323

Mary Ann Powell, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor of Sociology.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Family, Sex and Gender and Quantitative Methodology.
Email: maryannpowell@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.2632

Troy Romero,Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Goodrich Scholarship Program and Psychology.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Organizational Justice and Organizational Diversity.
Email: tromero@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.2274

Sandra Rodríguez-Arroyo, D.Ed. 
Assistant Professor of Education. 
Research and Teaching Interests:  Language Teacher Education (ESL, Bilingual, and World Languages), Critical Analysis of Language Policies and Applying Reading and Writing in the Content Areas. 
Email: srodriguezarroy@unomaha.edu 
Phone: 402.554.3676

Thomas Sanchez, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Ethnic/Race Relations, Sociological Theory and Ethnic Identity Formation.
Email: thomassanchez@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4977

Jonathan Santo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology. Adolescent Development, Statistics and Cross-Cultural Psychology.
Email: jsanto@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.4056

Steven Torres, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Spanish.
Research and Teaching Interests:
Modern Spanish and Latin American Literature, Cultural Studies and Metacultural Discourse, Film Studies and Sociology of Literature.
Email: sltorres@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3749

Laura Walls, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Email: lwalls@unomaha.edu
Phone: 402.554.3749

back to top

 

 

.