SKIP navigation
Through the Lens

This page's main content:

6th Annual UNO Women of Color Luncheon


photos and story by Becky Bohan Brown & Jaime Ishii

Your browser does not support this object.

University of Nebraska President James B. Milliken and 420 luncheon participants congratulated the 2008 nominees and recipients of the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO) Women of Color (WOC) Awards at the sixth annual luncheon.

The event, sponsored by UNO, State Farm Insurance, ConAgra Foods and a grant by the Nebraska Humanities Council, was held at the DC Centre. Washington, D.C., strategist Esther Aguilera presented the 2008 luncheon keynote which addressed three themes of civic engagement, inclusion and advocacy.

The WOC Awards acknowledge outstanding contributions and leadership by women of color in the Omaha area. Organizations and individuals were asked to nominate women of color for the awards in six categories: arts and humanities, business/entrepreneurship, community service, education, science and technology, and youth leadership.

The 2008 award winners are as follows:

  • Arts and Humanities - Mary J. Goodwin-Clinkscale
  • Business/Entrepreneurship - Jacqueline R. White
  • Community Service - Paulette Dillon Gomez
  • Education - Theresa Barron-McKeagney
  • Science and Technology - Ashira Jones
  • Youth Leadership - Anayeli Martinez Real

Keynote Speaker - Esther Aguilera - is president and CEO of Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI).