SKIP navigation
Faculty Senate
Faculty Senate

Professional Conduct Committee

Faculty Senate By-Laws Regarding this Committee:

Article VI. Committees.

Section 6: Faculty Committees

6.3 Professional Conduct Committee. This committee, composed of five (5) tenured UNO faculty members holding the rank of assistant professor or above, will consider all professional conduct cases arising under section 4.15 of the Bylaws of the Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska. The election to fill committee vacancies due to resignation, retirement, or the expiration of a three-year term shall be held no later than October 15th of each year. The faculty senate shall choose committee members by plurality vote from a list of nominees prepared by the Rules Committee. The ballot shall list one more nominee for each vacancy than there are positions to be filled and, insofar as feasible, wide representation of the faculty should be sought in the composition of the committee. Members of the committee shall serve staggered terms, meaning that the term(s) of one class of members will expire each year. Retiring members shall continue to serve for three (3) years as alternates who will be available as committee replacements should the need arise in a particular case. The committee shall elect its own chairperson from the membership.