SKIP navigation
Faculty Senate
Faculty Senate


Faculty Senate of the University of Nebraska at Omaha

2001-2002 Senate Minutes

Wednesday, August 22, 2001, 2:00 p.m.,Mahoney State Park

Attendees: N. Bacon, W. Bacon, Blair, Bruckner, J. Carroll, M. Carroll, Coyne, Dickson, Engelmann, File, Hagen, Helm, Johnson, Landis, Mande, Nazem, Neathery-Castro, O'Connell, Paterson, Sadlek, Schulte, Shroder, Valle, E. Williams, and Wolcott.

The Faculty Senate of the University of Nebraska at Omaha met at the Riverview Lodge at Mahoney State Park on August 23, 2001. Prior to the official meeting, senators listened to a discussion of the China Program which was presented by:

Thomas Gouttierre, Dean of International Studies and Programs
Michael Skau, Department of English
Nora Bacon, Department of English
Rita Saughnessey, Communication Department
Mark Rousseau, Department of Sociology
Wally Bacon, Department of Political Science.

A written statement by Robert Carlson, Communication Department, was also shared with the Senate.

At 11:00 A.M., President Wally Bacon called the Senate to Order.

Parliamentarian Jim Carroll reviewed basic Parliamentary Procedure and led a discussion of the role he would play in Senate proceedings.

President Bacon shared written reports of Regents meetings which had occurred over the summer, the Chancellor's Council meeting, and miscellaneous meetings. Aside from a report of some changes in standing committee membership and leadership, no reports were presented by Senate standing committees. Martha Bruckner, Faculty Senate Liaison to the Alumni Association, shared information from the most recent meeting.

Angela Valle nominated Martha Bruckner as Secretary-Treasurer to replace Hesham Eli-Rewini. Doug Paterson nominated George Englemann, who declined. Senator Bruckner was elected Secretary-Treasurer for the 2001-2002 academic year, and assumed duties of the office immediately.

Senator Greg Sadlek offered a resolution which, after discussion and amendment, stands as follows.

"Given the potential benefits and risks of the proposed Global Learning Initiative at UNO, and
Given that English has been identified in Senate discussions as the linchpin of the proposed budget, and
Given that serious pedagogical concerns have arisen with the current CD ROM model for delivery of IIIST English courses,
Be it resolved,
That the UNO Administration is urged with all due haste, working with the leadership of the Department of English, to address resource issues, in particular staffing concerns both at UNO and IIIST."

Senator Jim Hagen proposed a substitute amendment: "That no uncompensated work by UNO Faculty on the 'Shanghai Project' should proceed until a reallocation of resources occurs at the system level sufficient to meet the instructional costs identified by the English Department." This amendment failed after discussion.

Senator George Englemann moved that the original motion be amended by adding: "Be it resolved if these issues are addressed to the satisfaction of the English department, the Senate can endorse the Shanghai Project."

The Senate recessed for lunch at 11:55 a.m. During the luncheon, UNO Student President Regent Ms. Mallory Prucha addressed the Senate.

At 1:00 p.m., the Senate reconvened and continued discussion of the amendment.

A motion by Senator Nora Bacon to "postpone to September 12 the discussion of the resolution and amendments with the understanding that an ad-hoc committee will meet to write a newly proposed resolution" passed unanimously. President Bacon appointed the ad hoc committee to include Senators Mike Carroll, Nora Bacon, George Engelmann, Sufi Nazem, and Greg Sadlek. Senator Engelmann was asked to be the convening chair for the committee.

After discussion of "For the Good of the Order" President Bacon directed the Educational Resources and Services Committee to discuss (at a future meeting) the need for administrative guidance to future dean search committees.

On a motion by Angela Valle the Senate adjourned to committee meetings at 1:55 p.m. At the conclusion of committee meetings, senators listened to presentations by UN President L. Dennis Smith and UNO Chancellor Nancy Belck.