SKIP navigation

Chancellor's Commission on the Status for Women (CCSW)
Your Site

This page's main content:

CCSW Guidelines


The name of this organization shall be the Chancellor's Commission on the Status of Women (CCSW) of the University of Nebraska at Omaha. Its purpose shall be to serve as an advisory council to the Chancellor and other university administrators on issues that relate to women faculty, staff, and students at the University of Nebraska at Omaha.


The Executive Board of this organization shall consist of the officers of two Co-Chairpersons, Treasurer and Secretary. Their duties shall be as follows:

Co-Chairpersons: Call meetings, prepare agendas, chair meetings, appoint committee members, and communicate regularly with the Chancellor.

Treasurer: Coordinate finances and budget.

Secretary: Record and distribute meeting minutes, coordinate all correspondence, record attendance, archive minutes, reports and official correspondence.

At the April or May meeting the membership shall elect either a faculty or staff Chairperson, depending upon which chair position is open, for a two year term, beginning on July 01 and ending on June 30 of the second year, pending approval by the Chancellor. Each year the Co-chairpersons should consist of one faculty member and one staff member. In the event the Co-Chairperson cannot be filled by the current membership, the Chancellor shall appoint one or both Co-Chairperson positions either from within or from outside the Commission membership. At the same meeting, the Treasurer and Secretary shall also be elected for one-year terms from July 1 to the following June 30.


The membership shall include up to thirty to thirty-five individuals equally representing faculty, staff and students, who reflect diversity in culture, age, gender, academic units, university departments, and support services.

Members shall be appointed by the Chancellor upon recommendation from the Commission for one or two year terms, from July 1 - June 30. A member shall have the opportunity to serve consecutive terms but must reapply for a position on the Commission.

Letters of Application for membership shall be requested in April for terms beginning the following July and as the need arises to fill vacant positions. To ensure proportional representation from students, as needed, letters of Application for student memberships may be requested in August, for terms from September 1 – June 30 of the current academic year.

Members will be approved by a majority vote of CCSW members, either at a regularly scheduled meeting or through electronic communications. If selection takes place at a regularly scheduled meeting, a quorum of five members must be present. If selection takes place through electronic communication, the proposed new roster shall be distributed electronically, and a quorum of five members must respond.

The following persons shall be invited to serve as ex-officio members without voting privileges:

1. The Director of the Women's Resource Center.

2. A representative from the Women's Studies Faculty.

3. The outgoing CCSW Chair whose term ended in the previous year.

4. The UNO representatives on the university system-wide committee on gender equity (only if those representatives are not already regular members of the CCSW).

5. A representative from the Chancellor’s Office.

6. Other ex officio members may be added as the Commission deems necessary for conducting its business.


Meetings typically shall be held monthly during the academic year; special meetings may be called as the need arises. All meetings shall be open to the public. Members shall participate in regularly scheduled CCSW meetings, committee meetings, or CCSW sponsored events each month. Those who miss more than any two months (separate or continuous), with unexcused absences, will have their membership rescinded. The Executive Committee determines whether any member has unexcused absences. Participation in committee meetings or in CCSW sponsored events is considered to fulfill a member’s duty of monthly participation. Committees may choose to conduct their business through either regularly scheduled meetings or electronic communications.

Business shall be conducted by a majority vote, provided a quorum of five members is present. Absent members may vote by providing a written statement indicating their vote to another member of the Commission. Business may also be conducted by the Executive Board in the event a regularly scheduled meeting is not held, and such business may be conducted through electronic communications.

Yearly goals shall be determined by the officers in consultation with the Chancellor.


Changes to these Guidelines may be proposed prior to or at any regular meeting. However, a vote on the changes may not be taken until the next regularly scheduled meeting. Changes must be approved by a majority vote of the membership, provided a quorum of five members is present.

These guidelines were revised in April 2005 and approved by the CCSW in May 2005.