SKIP navigation

Chancellor's Commission on the Status for Women (CCSW)
Your Site

This page's main content:

CCSW Sponsored and Affiliated Events and Engagements

  • Award Nominations
  • CCSW Luncheon
  • Emergency Loan Fund
  • Legendary Women of UNO Award

Award Nominations

This is an opportunity to nominate an outstanding undergraduate student, faculty or staff member, or community organization for their contributions to support women in the UNO community. Winners will be recognized at the CCSW Award Luncheon. Information for nominating someone for the award is available on the Award page.

CCSW Luncheon

The 29th annual awards luncheon will be held on March 4, 2015 from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Milo Bail Student Center (MBSC) Ballroom. At the luncheon, CCSW will recognize the 2015 award recipients and celebrate the role of women in the UNO community.

Emergency Loan Fund (ELF)

As of 2010, UNO established an Employee Loan Fund for employees that have an unexpected financial hardship. Employees can apply to receive an interest-free loan of up to $750 to be repaid one year through payroll deduction. This fund is supported purely through private donations. This program has helped many UNO employees through a difficult time in their lives. In 2013 and 2014, CCSW hosted a raffle at the CCSW annual luncheon and a campus-wide "change campaign." These efforts in the past two years have rasised more than $3,500 for the Employee Loan Fund.

Legendary Women of UNO

In 2009, the Chancellor's Commission on the Status of Women (CCSW) chose to offer an annual award to honor women affiliated with the University of Nebraska at Omaha who have made a significant contribution to the university. The winner of each year's award is identified during the annual CCSW luncheon, held during Women's History Month. To be honored as a Legendary Woman of UNO, the winner must have made an impact on the future of university, issues pertaining to women, environment for students, faculty, and staff, and core institutional structure. For information about the women that have been honored as Legendary Women of UNO, visit the Legendary Women of UNO, page.