SKIP navigation
Aviation Institute
Aviation Institute

Donald Smithey Scholarship.

The Donald Smithey Scholarship was established in 2001 to recognize Mr. Smithey’s inspiration in the creation of the Aviation Institute. The focus on aviation administration is in recognition of his extraordinary and visionary leadership when he was the Executive Director of the Omaha Airport Authority. Our community prospered under his direction with air service that is unparalleled in the nation by similar size communities.  The deadline for applications to be submitted is Friday, February 14, 2014, at 4:30 p.m. to CPACS 120.  The scholarship recipient will be announced at the Aviation Institute Honors Convocation.  For more information about this scholarship and other aviation scholarships, visit our web-site at

Students meeting the following criteria shall be eligible for this scholarship:

  • Must be pursuing a degree in Aviation.
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Pursuing a career in aviation
  • Candidates must be enrolled in the Spring 2013 semester at UNO, AND the Summer or Fall 2013 semester.
  • This scholarship will be awarded for one academic year, but past recipients may reapply for the scholarship.

Application Form

Past Winners

2012-2013: Ethan Schaecher
2011-2012: Jeremy Martin
2010-2011: Michael Billinger
2009-2010: Joseph Rotterdam
2009-2010: Howard Davis
2008-2009: Joseph Rotterdam
2007-2008: Joseph Rotterdam
2006-2007: Leigh Hedrick, BAV Air Transport Administration, 2006
2005-2006: Patrick Schmoker, BAV Air Transport Administration, 2005
2004-2005: Nicholas Smay, BSPA Aviation Administration, 2005
2003-2004: Amy Thelen, BSPA Aviation Administration, 2004
2002-2003: Stephen McCoy, BSPA Aviation Administration, 2003
2001-2002: Sami Vasistha, BSPA Aviation Administration, 2004

Untitled Document