SKIP navigation
Aviation Institute
Aviation Institute

David L. Lamar Memorial Scholarship.

The David L. LaMar Memorial Scholarship, given to aviation students furthering a professional pilot career, is in honor of former University of Nebraska at Omaha Aviation Institute student David LaMar.  LaMar, a senior at the time, was killed in a plane crash on Dec. 20, 1995.  He was also a flight instructor with 14 students at Sky Harbor at Eppley Airfield.  The purpose of this scholarship is to not only keep David’s memory alive, but to help another aviation student learn to fly.  This scholarship was established through the University of Nebraska Foundation.  Applicants must meet the qualifications listed below.  The deadline for applications to be submitted isFriday, February 14, 2014, at 4:30 p.m. to CPACS 120.  The scholarship recipient will be announced at the Aviation Institute Honors Convocation.  For more information about this scholarship and other aviation scholarships, visit our web-site at

Students meeting the following criteria shall be eligible for this scholarship:

  • Must be pursuing a degree in Aviation at the Aviation Institute.
  • Sophomore class standing or higher
  • Obtained Private Pilot Certificate at a minimum
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Pursuing advanced flight certificates/ratings at UNOAI and demonstrated interest in a career as a professional pilot
  • Financial need may be a criteria in awarding this award
  • Candidates must be enrolled in the Spring 2013 and enrolled full-time in the Summer 2013 or Fall 2013 semester in the Aviation Institute, College of Public Affairs and Community Service, University of Nebraska at Omaha.
  • This scholarship shall be awarded for one academic year, but all recipients shall be eligible to reapply for this scholarship in subsequent years.

Application Form

Past Winners

2012-2013: Deanna Stoddard
2011-2012: Tyler Klingemann
2010-20122: Matthew Clark
2009-2010: James Slabaugh
2008-2009: William Swett
2007-2008: Sean Cappel
2006-2007: Lucas Stritt, BAV Professional Flight, 2006
2005-2006: Rick Buesing, BGS Aviation Studies, 2006
2004-2005: Jeffrey Stock, BGS Aviation Studies, 2006
2003-2004: Jason Hartwig, BSPA Aviation Flight, 2004
2002-2003: Joshua Zangger, BSPA Aviation Flight, 2002
2001-2002: Julia Hoffman , BSPA Aviation Administration, 2002
2000-2001: Mark Zavon, BGS Aviation Studies, 2000
2000-2001: Stephen Vincik, BGS Aviation Studies, 2004
1999-2000: Jocelyn Wachal, BGS Aviation Studies, 1999; MPA, 2001
1998-1999: Edward Fink III, BGS Aviation Studies, 1998
1997-1998: Lyle Jones, BGS Aviation Studies, 1999
1996-1997: Antonia Krajicek, BSPA Aviation Administration, 1998

Untitled Document