SKIP navigation
Office of Academic & Student Affairs

*The purpose of this website is to provide students, alumni, faculty, and administrator's access to the nomination form and criteria. This website is in a development process and continues to be under construction. Previous awardees will be featured on the website and other valuable teaching resources.


RSS FeedAll Events

UNO Administrative Calendar

Academic & Student Affairs Meeting
10:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Community Engagement Center 118 First Floor Video Conference Room
Faculty/Senate Meeting
2:00 PM to 3:30 PM - Milo Bail Student Center Tower Room
ER&S Committee
2:30 PM to 3:30 PM - Criss Library Dean's Conference Room 203
Webinar: Advising and the Completion Agenda: Strategies for Student Success
1:00 PM to 2:30 PM - College of Public Affairs and Community Service Collaborating Commons 132
Spring fac. work-loads due in OASA
All day event - EAB 202
Civility in the Classroom Workshop
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM - College of Public Affairs and Community Service Collaborating Commons 132D
Student and Faculty Honors Nominations due to OASA
All day event - EAB 202
College Alumni Assoc. Teaching Awards Due
All day event - TBA
Digital Measures Training
2:00 PM to 4:00 PM - Criss Library Faculty Commons 305
Dundee/Memorial Park Neighborhood Association Board Meeting
6:00 PM to 9:30 PM - Community Engagement Center 128 Marian Ivers Board Room
OASA Discussions
7:30 AM to 9:00 AM - Milo Bail Student Center Chancellor's Room
Chancellor's Cabinet
2:00 PM - EAB 200
Graduate Program Chairs/Advisors
8:30 AM to 9:30 AM - Milo Bail Student Center Chancellor's Room

For a comprehensive list of events, please refer to the calendars below.

Excellence in Teaching Award

What is the Excellence in Teaching Award?

The Excellence in Teaching Award at the University of Nebraska at Omaha was established in 1969 to recognize superior efforts, dedication and exemplary conduct in the performance of the University's first task -- the education of its students.

Dedicated and effective teachers are a university's most important asset. At the University of Nebraska at Omaha, we have among us those whose performance merits special attention. It is to these that the University community presents the Excellence in Teaching Award.

*Nominated faculty MUST have been employed by UNO for a minimum of three years. The committee will not accept any self nominations for this award.

Important Documents

Important Dates

  • December 12, 2014 - Nomination deadline (Letter sent to nominated faculty by Chancellor's office)
  • January 23, 2015 - Nominee documentation due in the Chancellor's Office by 4 p.m.
  • January 26 - February 6, 2015 - Review of nominee documentation by EIT Committee
  • February 6, 2015 - Submit awardee names to the Chancellor

Excellence in Teaching Award Committee

  • Jody Neathery-Castro, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Phani Tej Adidam, College of Business Administration
  • Shari DeVeney, College of Education
  • Sherrie Wilson, College of Communication, Fine Arts, and Media
  • Matt Germonprez, College of Information Science, and Technology
  • Pamela Smith, College of Public Affairs and Community Service
  • Jessica Hagaman, New Faculty holding PhD (ED)